John Courtney Murray

John Courtney Murray, the architect of many of Vatican II's groundbreaking ideas on Roman Catholic thought in a pluralistic society, provided a strong foundation for dialogue and deliberation for many who are interested in matters of law and religion in a democratic society. The Center has honored individuals whose work, faith, and involvement in the Center furthers religious liberty with its John Courtney Murray Award. Since 1987, the following individuals have received the Center's John Courtney Murray Award.

John Courtney Murray Award Recipients:

  • John C. Roberts, 2009
  • Kathy Kelly, and Rev. Dr. Calvin Morris, 2007
  • Thomas C. Berg, Edward McGlynn Gaffney, Jr., and W. Cole Durham, Jr., 2006
  • Laurie Tockey, 2005
  • Craig B. Mousin, 2004
  • Richard Meister, 2003
  • Teree Foster, the Honorable Moshe Jacobius, and Richard F. Morrisroe, 2002
  • Sr. Sheila Lyne, RSM and James Dykehouse, 2001
  • Katheryn Dutenhaver and Fr. Leo Hayes, 2000
  • Case Hoogendoorn, 1999
  • Patty Gerstenblith and Jimmy M. Lago, 1998
  • Louis J. Keating, 1997
  • Dr. Martin E. Marty, 1995
  • Rev. John T. Richardson, C.M., 1993
  • Monsignor John J. Egan, 1991
  • Robert Wood Lynn and James A. Serritella, 1988
  • Rev. John E. Pollard, Rev. Robert L. Kealy, and Hon. Arlin M. Adams, 1987