Faculty & Administration


Roberta Rosenthal KwallRoberta Rosenthal Kwall
Raymond P. Niro Professor of Intellectual Property Law; Director, Center for Intellectual Property Law & Information Technology (CIPLIT®)
Barbara B. BresslerBarbara B. Bressler
Clinical Associate Professor of Law; Director Emeritus, Center for Intellectual Property Law & Information Technology (CIPLIT®); Deputy Director, Field Placement Program
Patty GerstenblithPatty Gerstenblith
Distinguished Research Professor of Law; Director, Center for Art, Museum, and Cultural Heritage Law
Margit LivingstonMargit Livingston
Professor of Law; Director, Center for Animal Law
Joshua SarnoffJoshua Sarnoff
Professor of Law
John RobertsJohn Roberts
Dean Emeritus; Professor of Law
Michael GrynbergMichael Grynberg
Associate Professor of Law
Anthony G. VoliniAnthony G. Volini
Legal Writing Instructor


Ellen GutiontovEllen Gutiontov Esq.
Executive Director, Center for Intellectual Property Law & Information Technology (CIPLIT®)
Phone: (312)362-5124

Distinguished & Visiting Faculty

Stefania FuscoStefania Fusco
Visiting Assistant Professor of Law

Affiliated Faculty

David L. FranklinDavid L. Franklin
Vice Dean
Associate Professor of Law
Michael S. JacobsMichael S. Jacobs
Professor of Law; Co-Director, International Aviation Law Institute

Adjunct Faculty

Richard BiagiRichard Biagi
Neal & McDevitt®
 Patrick G. Burns Patrick G. Burns
Greer, Burns & Crain
Stacy ChronopoulosStacy Chronopoulos
Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company
Bradley L. CohnBradley L. Cohn
Pattishall McAuliffe Newbury Hilliard & Geraldson
Meggan F. DuffyMeggan F. Duffy
Special Counsel, Marshall Gerstein & Borun
Michael R. GrahamMichael R. Graham
Gnosis IP Law, P.C.
Matthew A. GriffinMatthew A. Griffin
Kraft Foods, Senior Counsel, Global Intellectual Property Trademarks
Sana HakimSana Hakim
K&L Gates
Kenneth E. KrausKenneth E. Kraus
Kenneth E. Kraus LLC
Robert J. LabateRobert J. Labate
Holland & Knight LLP
Edward D. ManzoEdward D. Manzo
Husch Blackwell LLP
Paul D. McGrady, Jr.Paul D. McGrady, Jr.
Winston & Strawn LLP
Sanjay K. MurthySanjay K. Murthy
K&L Gates
Dean D. NiroDean D. Niro
Niro Haller & Niro
Kevin NoonanKevin Noonan
McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff
John S. PaniaguasJohn S. Paniaguas
Clark Hill PLC
Thomas P. RileyThomas P. Riley
Marshall, Gerstein & Borun, LLP
Martin RobinsMartin Robins
Fisher Broyles
Peter StrandPeter Strand
Leavens, Strand & Glover, LLC


CIPLIT hosted the Third International IP Scholars Roundtable and Hosier Scholar Lecture on May 1 - 2, 2014.

On May 1 and 2, 2014, twenty-two senior scholars from the United States and various other countries held a roundtable at DePaul on international intellectual property law issues.

Learn more.

Professor Sarnoff named Edison Scholar.

Professor Joshua Sarnoff has been appointed a Thomas Alva Edison Visiting Scholar for the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

Learn more.

15th Annual Niro Distinguished IP Lecture.

"How to Retain Patent Enforcement While Reforming It – Judges and Counsel Should Manage Infringement Suits, not Congress"

Honorable Paul R Michel(Ret.)
Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Commentator, Honorable James F Holderman
U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois

To view the video of this discussion, please click here.

In August 2013, four members of CIPLIT faculty participated in the 13th annual IP Scholars Conference, which originated at DePaul in 2000.

Professor Roberta Kwall opened the conference with a talk about the history of the conference and the top 10 things law faculty can do to enhance their career potential in this new reality of legal education. Professor Margit Livingston presented her paper on Copyright Infringement of Music: Determining Whether What Sounds Alike Is Alike. Professor Josh Sarnoff commented on Victoria Stodden’s paper, Software Patents as a Barrier to Scientific Transparency: An Unexpected Consequence of Bayh-Dole. Professor Fusco spoke about The Origins of Patent Examination in the Venetian Republic.

More CIPLIT news >