News Archive

2010 Alumni News

Capt. Igor Dubinsky ('07)

Alumni Capt. Igor Dubinsky, U.S. Army Reserve, received the Army’s most prestigious award—the Douglas MacArthur Leadership Award on May 7, 2010. This award is given to officers who demonstrate the ideals of duty, honor and country, and who epitomize the traits General MacArthur stood for.

To see photos of Capt. Dubinsky receiving the award from General George W. Casey, Jr., the Chief of Staff of the Army, and Dr. Juan Montero of the General Douglas MacArthur Foundation please click here.

Posted July 22, 2010

R.K. Arundale ('09)

New Alumni, R.K. Arundale, recently published his IP Basics article in the Young Lawyers Journal of the CBA Record, a Chicago Bar Association publication.

To read the article, please click here.

Posted January 28, 2010

Frank Muller (’08) and Katie Alvarez (’07)

The Library of Congress Copyright Office just hired nine attorneys. Both Frank Muller ’08 and Katie Alvarez ’07 were among those nine hires. They were also the most junior of the hires, though the office had hundreds of applications for those positions. Congratulations to our alums!

Posted January 13, 2010



CIPLIT hosted the Third International IP Scholars Roundtable and Hosier Scholar Lecture on May 1 - 2, 2014.

On May 1 and 2, 2014, twenty-two senior scholars from the United States and various other countries held a roundtable at DePaul on international intellectual property law issues.

Learn more.

Professor Sarnoff named Edison Scholar.

Professor Joshua Sarnoff has been appointed a Thomas Alva Edison Visiting Scholar for the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

Learn more.

15th Annual Niro Distinguished IP Lecture.

"How to Retain Patent Enforcement While Reforming It – Judges and Counsel Should Manage Infringement Suits, not Congress"

Honorable Paul R Michel(Ret.)
Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Commentator, Honorable James F Holderman
U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois

To view the video of this discussion, please click here.

In August 2013, four members of CIPLIT faculty participated in the 13th annual IP Scholars Conference, which originated at DePaul in 2000.

Professor Roberta Kwall opened the conference with a talk about the history of the conference and the top 10 things law faculty can do to enhance their career potential in this new reality of legal education. Professor Margit Livingston presented her paper on Copyright Infringement of Music: Determining Whether What Sounds Alike Is Alike. Professor Josh Sarnoff commented on Victoria Stodden’s paper, Software Patents as a Barrier to Scientific Transparency: An Unexpected Consequence of Bayh-Dole. Professor Fusco spoke about The Origins of Patent Examination in the Venetian Republic.

More CIPLIT news >